Even though winter (and the cold) have made the Hamptons and the North Fork quieter places to be, the rumbles of change are ongoing. New personnel join East End cultural organizations, artist residency awards are announced, a new show spotlighting Hamptons talent is about to launch and more news to know.

Guild Hall has announced the recipients of the 34th Academy of the Arts Achievement Awards. The 2019 honorees are composer Carter Burwell for Performing Arts presented by filmmaker Ethan Coen; Alice Aycock for Visual Arts, presented by Whitney Museum Director Adam Weinberg; Bob Colacello for Literary Arts, presented by author Linda Yablonsky; and Patti Askwith Kenner will receive the Special Award for Leadership and Philanthropy, presented by actress, singer, and playwright Tovah Feldshuh.

The awards ceremony will be held during a benefit dinner on Monday, March 11, 2019 at The Rainbow Room in New York City. The ceremony is hosted by Academy of the Arts President and Guild Hall Trustee Eric Fischl, while writer and Vogue theater critic Adam Green will Emcee the evening. The Award Ceremony will feature a live performance of a Carter Burwell composition interpreted by indie rock legends Yo La Tengo.


Guild Hall Academy Awards Dinner at the Rainbow Room in NYC. Courtesy Guild Hall.

Guild Hall Academy Awards Dinner at the Rainbow Room in NYC. Courtesy Guild Hall.


The first "Creative Artists Salon Series" at LTV will launch (and open its doors to a studio audience) on Friday, February 22, 2019. LTV's new Creative Director, Angela LaGreca, hosts with Lenny Babbish as musical director. LaGreca, taps her connections from the entertainment, film, art and literature worlds and brings them to the LTV stage in East Hampton. Afterwards, hang around for the sounds of DJ Frankline Quito. Admission is $10. For details, call 631-537-2777 ext. 110. www.ltveh.org.

LaGreca joined LTV recently as its new Creative Director after a lengthy career in network television including ABC-TV and NBC (Producer of the "Today Show"; Supervising Producer at "The Meredith Viera Show") as well as Head Writer at "The View", Producer/Writer at Sirius Radio and a Senior Producer at "Daily Mail TV," according to LTV. Locally, she may have been spotted performing as a comedian and singer at Bay Street, Guild Hall, WHBPAC and Plum TV's "Laugh Out Loud with Angela."

North Fork TV Festival announced its new Co-Chairs for the 2019 festival. Joining are Emmy-nominated Producer Mark Armstrong; Roy Ashton, a partner and head of TV Literary & Packaging Department at The Gersh Agency; Haleigh Raff, producer for Late Night With Seth Meyers and CEO of Assembly Entertainment Christina Wayne. Click here for details.

Parris Art Museum Board of Trustees has elected Mary E. Frank as President and Interim Chair as of January 1, 2019, the museum announced. Mary Frank joined the Parrish Board in 2017, following decades as a friend and supporter of the Museum. A noted art historian with a Ph.D from Princeton and a Master’s degree from the University of Miami, she specializes in the art of Renaissance Venice.

Frank is a trustee of the American Academy in Rome and serves on the Advisory Board of the Peggy Guggenheim Collection in Venice, among other accomplishments in Venice. She serviced on the board of the Miami Art Museum from 1994 to 2011 and, as President there from 2006 to 2009, she oversaw the selection of Herzog and de Meuron to design a new home for the museum (now PAMM or the Perez Art Museum Miami).

Continuing in their current roles as Parrish Board of Trustees are James Freeman, Sandy Perlbinder, and Alexandra Stanton, Vice Presidents; Jay Goldberg, Treasurer; and Timothy Davis, Secretary. Outgoing Chair Fred M. Seegal will continue to serve on the Board as Chair Emeritus.

Guild Hall has named Anthony Madonna as The Patti Kenner Fellow in Arts Education for the inaugural position. Made possible by long time Guild Hall Trustee, Patti Kenner, the newly-created position will support arts education for youth through high quality, inventive and pioneering educational offerings, according to Guild Hall.

Southampton Arts Center Artistic Director Amy Kirwin announced Godfrey Palaia has joined SAC as its Director of Production & Venue Operations. 

Watermill Center announced applications are now being accepted for its 2019 International Summer Program. Applications will be accepted through March 4, 2019 at 11:59 p.m. Click here for details.

Guild Hall announced artist selections for its 2019 Guild House Artist-in-Residency (AIR) Program offered in two sessions. The Spring Session, held April 15 - May 13, 2019, will host artists Burcu Koray, Matthew Jensen, Tess Howsam and André Terrel Jackson. The Fall Session, held October 28 to November 25, 2019, hosts artists Caitlin Doyle, Luisa Caldwell, Laura Belém and Dipti Bramhandkar. Public programming will be announced as each Session approaches. For details, click here.


Copyright 2019 Hamptons Art Hub LLC. All rights reserved.

Don't miss a story!

We are on Social Networks

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!