The 2016 East End Museum season has begun and there are plenty of exhibitions to see. Highlights include Guild Hall's Peter Beard show, which is the artist's first U.S. solo exhibition in 15 years, and the Parrish Art Museum's multidisciplinary "Radical Seafaring" exhibition. Don't miss the Islip Art Museum's "Private Viewing: For Your Eyes Only" opening this month, a show in which artists were asked to create works in boxes that engage one viewer at a time. Read on to discover new and continuing exhibitions on view in June at art and historical museums on Long Island.


“THE CURIOSITIES OF HARRY SQUIRES” opens on June 18, 2016 with an Opening Reception from 2 to 4 p.m. The exhibition remains on view through October 2016. The show presents the eccentric collections of Harry Squires, a Bridgehampton character who preserved bits of local wildlife, memorabilia of shipwrecks, Native American artifacts and more.

The Bridgehampton Museum Archives Building is located at 2539-A Montauk Highway, Bridgehampton, NY 11932.


“DAN FLAVIN: ICONS” continues through April 30, 2017. The five wall-mounted “icons” on view in the exhibition bridge the mediums of painting and sculpture. The box-like constructions with painted surfaces and attached light fixtures were created between 1961 and 1964.

ON PERMANENT VIEW is an installation by Dan Flavin (1933-1996) of nine works in fluorescent light made between 1963 and 1981. The exhibition follows Flavin’s art practice from when he began to work solely with standard fluorescent fixtures and tubes to just before the presentation of his new art form was realized.

Dan Flavin Art Institute is located on Corwith Avenue, about 1/2 block from Main Street, Bridgehampton, NY 11932. The museum is open weekends from noon to 6 p.m. For details and programming, visit


“78th ANNUAL ARTIST MEMBERS EXHIBITION” continues through June 4. The show is the oldest non-juried museum exhibition on Long Island and one of the few non-juried exhibitions still offered.

“PETER BEARD: LAST WORD FROM PARADISE” opens on June 18 with an Opening Reception from 4 to 6 p.m. The exhibition remains on view through July 31, 2016. Representing Peter Beard's first U.S. museum solo exhibition in 15 years, the show presents more than 50 multi-layered collages, drawings, photographs, and diaries from the 1960s to the present, some on public view for the first time.


"I'll Write Whenever I Can…" by Peter Beard, 1965/2004. Gelatin silver print with gelatin silver collage, animal blood, and rag, 50 1/4 x 88 1/4 inches. ©Peter Beard, Courtesy of Peter Beard Studio.

"I'll Write Whenever I Can…" by Peter Beard, 1965/2004. Gelatin silver print with gelatin silver collage, animal blood, and rag, 50 1/4 x 88 1/4 inches. ©Peter Beard, Courtesy of Peter Beard Studio.


RELATED: "Peter Beard Solo Show Opens Guild Hall Museum’s Summer Season".

Guild Hall is located at 158 Main Street, East Hampton, NY 11937.


“MASTER OF ILLUSION: THE MAGICAL ART OF GARY ERBE” continues through August 28, 2016. This exhibition traces the career of artist Gary Erbe from his early troupe l’oeil works to his recent paintings combining realism with modernist tendencies, including works that focus on objects arranged to emphasize composition, form and structure. Erbe’s surreal works are inspired by popular culture, including nostalgic childhood pastimes, 1950s radio and television, American history, contemporary social issues and more.

“CORNUCOPIA: STILL LIFES FROM THE COLLECTION” remains on view through August 21, 2016. This exhibition pulled from the museum’s collection traces the development of still life painting from late 19th-century through the 1970s.

The Heckscher Museum of Art is located at 2 Prime Avenue, Huntington, NY 11743.


“IN PRINT” continues through September 18, 2016 in the David Filderman Gallery. The exhibition presents works made with a variety of printmaking processes such as relief, intaglio, planographic, and stencil. Works are drawn from the museum’s collections and date from the late 16th to the 21st century.

“AFRICA: SUB-SAHARAN DIVERSITY” continues through August 12, 2016 in the Emily Lowe Gallery. Drawn exclusively from the Museum's Collections, the exhibition presents art and artifacts from cultures across West and Central Africa. Masks, weapons, sculptures, and jewelry will be on view.

The Hofstra University Museum is located at 112 Hofstra University, Hempstead, NY 11549.

The Emily Lowe Gallery is located at Emily Lowe Hall on the South Campus. The David Filderman Gallery is located on the ninth floor of the Joan and Donald E. Axinn Library on the South Campus.


“POISON PLAY” continues through June 5, 2016. Artists on view include Margaret DeLima, Scott McIntire, John Sabraw and Anne Seelbach. The exhibition explores our carbon footprint, the abuse of natural resources and works born from destruction. Curated by Beth Giacummo.

“PRIVATE VIEWING: FOR YOUR EYES ONLY” opens on June 19, 2016 with an Opening Reception on June 25 from 8 to 11 p.m. The exhibition remains on view through September 11, 2016. This Annual Open Call exhibition challenges artists to create works in a box that engage one viewer at a time. Curated by Eileen Palmer.

"SHAPESHIFTER: NEW WORKS BY ANU ANNAM" opens on June 19, 2016 with an Opening Reception on June 25 from 8 to 11 p.m. The exhibition remains on view through September 11, 2016. On view are Annam's portraits that capture mental states and auras through unconventional techniques and interpretations.

The Islip Art Museum is located at 50 Irish Lane, East Islip, NY 11730.


LongHouse Reserve opened for the season on April 30. On view is the design exhibition "Master Works" featuring a mix of furnishings and "art-in-craft media". Twelve new sited sculptures join the LongHouse Reserve's cultivated grounds and gardens for the season. Click here to discover the new sculpture on view. 

LongHouse Reserve is located at 133 Hands Creek Rd, East Hampton, NY 11937.


"THE BRUSH IS MY PEN: ART THAT TELLS STORIES" continues through July 30, 2016. The exhibition explores American art in the narrative tradition, from the 1820s through today. 18 paintings, prints, and photographs chosen primarily from the Long Island Museum’s permanent collection will be on view.

“COMMON GROUND: THE MUSIC FESTIVAL EXPERIENCE” continues through September 5, 2016. The exhibition is curated by the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and explores the appeal and influence of music festivals on our society.

LONG ISLAND IN THE SIXTIES” opens on June 24 and remains on view through December 31, 2016. This exhibition explores how Long Island was transformed in the 1960s as New York City residents sought home ownership and greener pastures, and as the country as a whole questioned the meaning of a “traditional” American lifestyle.

The Long Island Museum is located at 1200 Route 25A, Stony Brook, NY 11790. For details and programming, visit


“KENNY SCHARF” continues through July 10, 2016. A major player in the 1980s NYC street art movement, Kenny Scharf is recognized by his vibrant, large-scale paintings and playful installations. His imagery draws upon pop icons, advertising and consumer culture of the 1960s, including TV cartoon characters. The exhibition includes approximately 50 major paintings and sculptures from throughout the artist’s career.  Also on view are installations taken directly from the artist’s former Brooklyn studio and loft space as a recreation of the artist’s workspace.

RELATED: "Kenny Scharf & ’80s Street Art Opens at Nassau County Museum of Art".

“JOSEF ALBERS: FORMULATION: ARTICULATION” continues through July 10, 2016. On view will be Josef Albers' silkscreens from his “Formulation:Articulation” portfolio spanning 40 years. Works in the portfolio explore themes such as perception of color and spatial geometry.

The Nassau County Museum of Art is located at One Museum Drive (just off Northern Blvd, Route 25A), Roslyn Harbor, NY 11576.


“RADICAL SEAFARING” continues through July 24, 2016. “Radical Seafaring” is a multidisciplinary exhibition, publication, and program initiative that includes two-dimensional works, sculptural objects, vessels, models, film and video, off-site commissions, and boat trips around East End waterways. Under the direction of Andrea Grover, the show features 25 artists showing works ranging from artist-made seafaring vessels, documentation of past expeditions, designs exploring alternative communities on the water and more.

The Parrish Art Museum is located at 279 Montauk Highway, Water Mill, NY 11976.


"Hickory" by Swoon, 2009. Mixed Media, 20 x 20 x 20 inches. Photo: Tod Seelie.

"Hickory" by Swoon, 2009. Mixed Media, 20 x 20 x 20 inches. Photo: Tod Seelie.



“PHILIP PAVIA: SCULPTURE AND DRAWINGS” continues through July 30, 2016. The exhibition includes a selection of drawings and stone sculptures by Philip Pavia (1911-2005). The show focuses on the 1960s, when Pavia began working in marble, treating blocks of stone as collage elements to create various colors and textures culminating in “scatter sculptures.” Drawings on view represent “thought-forms” that helped Pavia visualize ideas for sculptures.

The Pollock-Krasner House and Study Center is located at 830 Springs-Fireplace Road, East Hampton, NY 11937.


“EVERY VILLAGE HAS A STORY: PLACES” remains on view through June 27, 2016. In this exhibition curated by Elise Goodheart, nine local artists were invited to explore the roots of Sag Harbor’s past through it’s buildings and “places.” Artists on view include Reynold Ruffins, John Capello, Paul Davis, Erica Lynn Huberty, Joan Tripp, Scott Sandell, Peter Solow, Carolyn Conrad, Michael Butler.

The Sag Harbor Whaling and Historical Museum is located at 200 Main Street, Sag Harbor, NY 11963.


“SOUTHAMPTON UNDER SIEGE: THE BRITISH OCCUPATION OF SOUTHAMPTON DURING THE REVOLUTIONARY WAR” continues through December 31, 2016. The exhibition makes use of a timeline, maps, period rooms, artifacts, video, and a catalog to bring attention to the men, women, and children who lived in an isolated and occupied village from 1776 until the end of the revolutionary war.

“BEACH LIGHT: PAINTINGS BY EILEEN DAWN SKRETCH” continues through October 22, 2016. The exhibition features seaside paintings of the flat, open spaces of the East End by artist Eileen Dawn Skretch.

The Southampton Historical Museum & Research Center’s main campus is located at 17 Meeting House Lane, Southampton, NY 11968.


"IMAGES OF NEW YORK, 1912-1964" continues through June 24, 2016 in the Reichert Family Center. Photographs of New York City over a span of over 50 years by Charles Henry Meredith and William Steeple Davis will be on view.

"DEAD MAN'S COVE: 10 SHIPWRECKS & ONE LIGHTHOUSE" opens on June 4, 2016 and continues through July 23, 2016. The exhibition showcases the stories of 10 vessels that encountered trouble on the Long Island Sound and the history of Dead Man's Cove, the area surrounding Horton Point.

The Southold Historical Society's Reichert Family Center and Cosden Price Gallery is located at 54127 Main Road, Southold, NY 11971. The Ann Currie-Bell House is located at 55200 Main Road, Southold, NY 11971.


“FULLERTON’S LONG ISLAND: THE LURE OF THE LAND” continues through December 23, 2016. The exhibition will feature over 70 large-sized historic photographs from the museum’s Hal B. Fullerton Collection. Curated by Neil Scholl and Peter Dicke.

“WHEN THE BROADBILL WAS KING ON GREAT SOUTH BAY” continues through August 27, 2016. The exhibition highlights local families, maritime history, folk art, and bay ecology. Presented by the Long Island Decoy Collectors Assoc., the show will feature decoys, a scooter boat, a documentary, historic photos of the Great South Bay rigs, and artwork and photography by Steven Sanford.

PERMANENT EXHBITIONS: Six historical exhibitions culled from the SCHS collections. The Syliva Downs Staas Gallery presents paintings and furniture from the 18th – 20th centuries. Permanent exhibitions include “So Ends This Long Journey”, “Early Suffolk Farm Life and The Rise of Crafts”, “Early Suffolk Transport”, “From Near and Far: Ceramics in Suffolk County Households, 1750-1870” and “Arms & Armament”.

The Suffolk County Historical Society is located at 300 West Main St., Riverhead, NY 11901.


"2nd ANNUAL BEST OF THIRTY SQUARED" opens on June 23, 2016 with an Opening Reception on June 25, 2016 from 4 to 7 p.m. The exhibition remains on view through July 17, 2016. 26 artists were challenged to create 30 works in 30 days. The results include paintings, drawings and photographs in landscape, still life, figurative and abstract genres.

The Water Mill Museum is located at 41 Old Mill Road, Water Mill, NY 11976.


BASIC FACTS: Museum Look, a round-up of art exhibitions at museums on Long Island, is published monthly at For a list of museums exhibiting art on Long Island, New York City and South Florida, visit our Museum Guide by clicking here.


Copyright 2016 Hamptons Art Hub LLC. All rights reserved.

Don't miss a story!

We are on Social Networks

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!