

Artist Short List Announced for Hugo Boss Prize 2016

October 26, 2015 by Pat Rogers

Six finalists have been selected for the Hugo Boss Prize 2016, the biennial award established in 1996 to recognize artists whose work is among the most innovative and influential of our time. Artists on the 2016 Hugo Boss Prize Short List are Tania Bruguera, Mark Leckey, Ralph Lemon, Laura Owens, Wael Shawky and Anicka Yi, recently announced the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation, who administers the Prize and awards the winning artist a solo show at its New York City art museum.

.



"Untitled" by Ralph Lemon, 2010. Archival pigment print, 40×40 inches. Courtesy the artist.

.

Tania Brugera (b. 1968, Havana) is a Cuban installation and performance artist. Mark Leckey (b. 1964, Birkenhead, UK) works with collage, video and music and won the 2008 Turner Prize. Ralph Lemon is a choreographer, conceptualist, installation artist, director and writer. Laura Owens (b. 1970, Euclid, Ohio) is a painter, printmaker, bookmaker and installation artist. Wael Shawky (b. 1971, Alexandria, Egypt) is an artist and filmmaker whose works explore national, religious and artistic identity in a mix of truth and fantasy. Anicka Yi (b. 1971, Seoul) is a conceptual artists who works frequently with fragrance and whose art involves scent, tactility and perishability.

.



Installation view: "7,070,430K of Digital Spit," Kunsthalle Basel, Basel, 2015 by Anicka Yi. Courtesy 47 Canal, New York, and Kunsthalle Basel, Basel. Photo: Philipp Hänger.

_

The winner of the Hugo Boss Prize receives a \$100,000 (USD) prize and a solo exhibition at the <u>Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum</u> in New York City. The Hugo Boss Prize selects artists who are making a significant contributions to contemporary art. This year's finalists are a mix of artists

working worldwide, ranging from 45 to 63 years old.

The finalists were chosen by a panel of international critics and curators, said Nancy Spector, Deputy Director and Jennifer and David Stockman Chief Curator, Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation. Since the prize's founding, juries have identified and selected as finalists paradigm-shifting artists from around the world, recognizing the achievements of both emerging and established figures, and setting no parameters in terms of age, gender, or medium, according to the Guggenheim.

.



"Tatlin's Whisper #5" by Tania Bruguera. Mounted police, crowd control techniques, audience, overall dimensions variable Installation view: UBS Openings: Live the Living Currency, Tate Modern, London, 2008 Photo: Sheila Burnet. Courtesy the artist.

.

Past winners of the <u>HUGO Prize</u> include Paul Chan (2014); Danh Vo (2012); Hans-Peter Feldmann (2010); Emily Jacir (2008); Tacita Dean (2006); Rirkit Tiravanija (2004); Pierre Huyghe (2002); Marjetica Potrč (2000); Douglas Gordon (1998) and Matthew Barney (1996).

The HUGO Prize is administered by the <u>Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation</u>. It is sponsored by <u>HUGO BOSS</u>, creating collections and premium and luxury fashion and accessory products in the global apparel market. HUGO BOSS includes the collections of BOSS, BOSS Orange, BOSS Green and HUGO.

The Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum is located at 1071 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY 10128. www.guggenheim.org.

Copyright 2015 Hamptons Art Hub LLC. All rights reserved.