DISPATCH - SEPT 23, 2013


The Parrish Art Museum has announced the line-up for the 2013 "Artists Choose Artists" juried exhibition biennial. The jurors for this year's edition are Laurie Anderson, Judith Hudson, Mel Kendrick, David Salle, Ned Smyth, Keith Sonnier, and Robert Wilson.

Each juror selects two artists from a pool of East End artist applicants. Each juror makes studio visits before finalizing their artist picks. his year saw 300 online submissions from artists having a "119" zip code. For the exhibition, each juror artist shows their own work alongside the artists they selected.

Following is the list of artists to be featured in the show opening in November:


 Laurie Anderson selected Elizabeth Dow and Mary McCormick

Judith Hudson selected Don Christensen and Christine Sciulli

Mel Kendrick selected Elise Ansel and Eva Faye

David Salle selected Carol Hayes and Virva Hinnemo

Ned Smyth selected Koichiro Kunta and Rick Liss

Keith Sonnier selected Rossa Cole and Brian Gaman

Robert Wilson selected Tucker Marder and Ezra Thompson


"Artists Choose Artists" is one way the Parrish Art Museum "celebrates artists on the East End and the dynamic relationships uniting the area’s creative community," according to the museum. The biennial also brings to the forefront the East End's unique heritage as an artist colony. "Artists Choosing Artists" is also designed to facilitate introductions and fellowship among the multi-generational network of artists currently working in the Hamptons, the North Fork and in the Town of Riverhead.

The show includes video interviews with each artist. Taken together, the footage demonstrates the diversity of contemporary art practice of East End artists and captures the evolving and interconnected history of artists on the East End.

In 2011, the artist jurors were Alice Aycock, Ross Bleckner, Dan Rizzie, Mathew Satz, Garry Simmons, Agathe Snow and Frank Wimberley.

Artists selected were Kryn Olson, Mike Solomon, Renate Aller, Mary Ellen Bartley, Ross Watts, Tad Wiley, Terry Elkins, Liliya Lifanova, Perry Burns, Melinda Hackett, Alice Hope, Nella Khanis, Fulvio Massi and Julie Small-Gamby.

In 2009, the exhibition was titled “Mixed Greens.” Artist jurors were John Alexander, Michael Combs, April Gornik, Mary Heilmann, Richard Kalina, Michelle Stuart, Donald Sultan, John Torreano and Joe Zucker.

Selected artists were Jessica Benjamin, Peter Dayton, Frazer P. Dougherty, Stephen Laub, Jody Pinto, Randall Rosenthal, Kevin Teare, Ellen Wiener and Lucy Winton.

BASIC FACTS: "Artists Choose Artists" will be exhibited from Nov. 10, 2013 to Jan. 19, 2014 at the Parrish Art Museum, 279 Montauk Highway, Water Mill, NY 11976  parrishart.org.


Parrish Art Museum



Copyright 2013 Hamptons Art Hub LLC. All rights reserved.

Don't miss a story!

We are on Social Networks

Comments are closed.

error: Content is protected !!