The Bridgehampton Museum presents exhibits that support its mission of documenting, preserving and interpreting the history and cultural traditions of Bridgehampton and the surrounding Hamptons communities. The museum includes the Nathaniel Rogers House and The Corwith House, which presents temporary and permanent exhibitions, period rooms and hosts outdoor events and programs.
Temporary contemporary art exhibitions are also presented in the Bridgehampton Museum Archives Building, located on a separate campus at 2539-A Montauk Highway, Bridgehampton, NY 11932.
The Dan Flavin Art Institute houses a permanent exhibition by Dan Flavin (1933-1996). The building was designed by Dan Flavin, which formerly housed a firehouse and Baptist church. Part of Dia Art Foundation, the Dan Flavin Art Institute presents temporary and permanent exhibitions. On permanent view are nine fluorescent light works by Flavin, made between 1963 and 1981. Temporary exhibitions have presented solo shows by John Chamberlain, Andy Warhol, Keith Haring, Alice Neel, Louise Bourgeois, Cy Twombly and others.
Originally built as a firehouse in 1908, the building operated as a church from 1924 to the mid-1970s, and was renovated under the direction of the artist to evoke the building’s former uses: a newel post in the entrance hall is painted red in memory of the building’s years as a firehouse, and the original church doors have been moved to the entrance of a small exhibition space on the second floor that contains memorabilia, including a neon cross, collected from and about the church.
The East Hampton Historical Society museum is made up of six buildings located in East Hampton Town, several which present temporary exhibitions in season. Open year-round is the Osborn-Jackson House, ca. 1720, which features furnishings of a well-to-do post-Colonial East End family.
Guild Hall Museum collects, preserves and presents the works of accomplished East End artists. A year-round schedule of changing exhibitions includes solo and group shows presenting internationally renowned visual artists and emerging regional artists.
Solo shows have included Robert Motherwell, Chuck Close, Barbara Kruger, Eric Fischl and others. Curated group shows, traveling exhibitions, the annual Artists Members Exhibition and exhibitions from the collection are part of Guild Hall’s exhibitions rooster. In addition, an outdoor sculpture court presents changing solo shows each year.
The museum’s collection includes 19th, 20th and 21st century art made up of paintings, sculpture, prints, watercolors, photographs and drawings. Internationally distinguished artists in the collection include Jackson Pollock, Lee Krasner, Willem de Kooning, Roy Lichtenstein, Andy Warhol and others.
LongHouse Reserve presents sculptures and outdoor art installations surrounded by 16 acres of gardens, with guided tours offered.
The gardens at LongHouse serve as a living case study of the interaction between plants and people in the 21st century. The extensive plant collections are presented in relation to living spaces, over time, and with seasonal changes.
Art on view includes sculpture in the gardens, Ethnographic works, handcrafts, and modern art. LongHouse offers visitors a chance to experience art integrated with nature.
The former home and studio of Jackson Pollock and Lee Krasner preserved and open for public viewing. The building serves as a museum to illustrate the setting in which Pollock and Krasner created many of their iconic works and as a place for the study of modern American Art and the Eastern Long Island Community. The Museum also hosts changing exhibitions featuring prominent American artists.
The mission of the Sag Harbor Whaling & Historical museum is to preserve, interpret and promote the culture of Sag Harbor through its collection of historical objects related to the village’s whaling history, as well as the presentation of contemporary exhibits and events that reflect the culture of the village today and put Sag Harbor’s past and present into context.
The Parrish Art Museum, founded in 1898, opened the doors of its new, 34,400-square-foot Herzog & de Meuron-designed, building in November of 2012. The new Parrish includes 12,200 square feet of exhibition space—three times that of the Museum’s former home on Jobs Lane in Southampton. Seven sky-lit galleries devoted to the permanent collection showcase the story of America’s most enduring and influential artists’ colony—Eastern Long Island.
The mission of the Water Mill Museum is to preserve its historic water-powered grist mill, the other buildings at its site, its museum collection and inform the public about the history of the mill, the hamlet of Water Mill and the hamlet's cultural and natural heritage.
The museum's collection will contain items that best depict the many past uses of the water mill building, the agricultural base of the hamlet's first 300 years and the commercial, cultural and social development of the hamlet of Water Mill from 1644 to the present.
The Watermill Center is a laboratory for performance, art and inspiration, founded by American experimental theater stage director and playwright. Watermill Center provides an environment for emerging and established artists and thinkers to gather and explore new ideas together. Founded in 1992 by Robert Wilson, the Watermill Center opened in 2006 in a renovated former Western Union communication research facility.
The Watermill Center hosts an international artist-in-residency program where artists live, work and interact with the Watermill Center’s extensive collection of art and artifacts. More recently, art exhibitions and installations have been added to their programming. The Watermill Center is open year-round during artist rehearsal events, open houses and by appointment.