In the July 2017 edition of the Design & Art Book List expect to find plenty of new and upcoming releases sure to make great summer reads. Books on Hamptons houses and gardens, architect firms, the building of the Guggenheim, a documentary photographer, Ed Ruscha's latest project, dance, sculpture, contemporary artists and more are all included in the July 2017 Book List.

“Out East: Houses and Gardens of the Hamptons”

Miles of beaches and open farmland have long attracted visitors to Long Island’s South Fork. Residents in the seaside communities from Southampton to Montauk are calling upon world-class designers to fine-tune their visions, giving rise to a fresh design vernacular: homes that are testaments to what can be achieved when inspired by the natural beauty of a unique locale.

“Out East” captures the appeal of shingled houses, modernist oceanfront designs, artists’ compounds, and surf shacks. Jennifer Ash Rudick, a long-time Southampton resident, leads an insider’s tour of more than 25 houses, cottages, and pool houses. Tria Giovan, a Sag Harbor–based photographer, captures gardens, verandas, lakeside pavilions, farmhouses, and converted barns.

BASIC FACTS: “Out East: Houses and Gardens of the Hamptons” is written by Jennifer Ash Rudick and Tria Giovan (Photographer). Published by Vendome Press. Release Date: July 11, 2017. Hardcover | 328 pages | $75.00 

“Redefining Brutalism”

There is a genuine resurgence of interest in the Brutalism period of architecture. Brutalism is a highly debated topic in the architectural press and amongst architectural critics and institutions who promote the preservation of these buildings.

“Redefining Brutalism” is unique in combining illustrated design with descriptions of both British and International Brutalist buildings and architects, alongside analysis of the present and future of Brutalism.

BASIC FACTS: “Redefining Brutalism” is written by Simon Henley. Published by RIBA Publishing. Release Date: July 13, 2017. Paperback | 224 pages | $44.95

“Solid Objectives: Order, Edge, Aura”

This book introduces an attitude towards the design and realization of architecture in a time of increased instability. It is illustrated with rarely seen images and essays on the work of the firm SO–IL. Rather than a catalog of works, the book is a visual and textual manifesto towards progressive practice in an interconnected and global environment.

As a collection of built and un-built projects, texts, processes, and experiments, it embodies an intellectual and artistic attitude that has gained this young office attention. Taking the form of a monograph, the book curates the firm’s content based on conceptual themes, allowing the reader to have a multi-dimensional and immersive experience, similar to how one would experience SO–IL’s architecture.

BASIC FACTS: “Solid Objectives: Order, Edge, Aura” is written by Florian Idenburg, Jing Liu and Illias Papageorgio. Published by Lars Müller. Release Date: July 15, 2017. Paperback | 484 pages | $40.00

“The Guggenheim: Frank Lloyd Wright’s Iconoclastic Masterpiece”

Considered the crowning achievement of Frank Lloyd Wright (1867–1959), the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in Manhattan is often called iconic. But it is in fact iconoclastic, standing in stark contrast to the surrounding metropolis and setting a new standard for the postwar art museum. Commissioned to design the building in 1943 by the museum’s founding curator, Baroness Hilla von Rebay, over the next 17 years, Wright continuously clashed with his clients over the cost and the design, a conflict that extended to the city of New York.

Wright held fast to his radical design concept of an inverted ziggurat and spiraling ramp, built with a continuous beam. Construction was only completed in 1959, six months after Wright’s death. The building’s initial critical response ultimately gave way to near-universal admiration, as it came to be seen as an architectural masterpiece. This text, offering a behind-the-scenes story of the Guggenheim along with a careful reading of its architecture, is illustrated with more than 150 images, including plans, drawings, and rare photographs of the building under construction.

BASIC FACTS: “The Guggenheim: Frank Lloyd Wright’s Iconoclastic Masterpiece” is written by Francesco Dal Co. Published by Yale University Press. Part of the Great Architects/Great Buildings Series. Release Date: July 18, 2017. Hardcover | 184 pages | $30.00

“Eugene Richards: The Run-On of Time”

Eugene Richards (b. 1944) is a documentary photographer known for his powerful, unflinching exploration of contemporary social issues from the early 1970s to the present. This book is the first comprehensive and critical look at Richards’s lifelong achievements. Reproduced in tritone and color, the images in this volume explore complicated and controversial subjects, including racism, poverty, drug addiction, cancer, aging, the effects of war and terrorism, and the erosion of rural America.

The authors of the book situate Richards’s work in the long photographic tradition that merges personal artistic vision with documentary practice, following in the tradition of W. Eugene Smith and Robert Frank.

BASIC FACTS: “Eugene Richards: The Run-On of Time” is written by Lisa Hostetler, April M. Watson and Keith F. Davis (Preface). Published by Nelson Atkins. Release Date: July 11, 2017. Hardcover | 232 pages | $63.00 

“Ed Ruscha: Metro Mattresses”

Ed Ruscha (born 1937) has been casting his eye across the landscapes of the American West for over 50 years, taking in everything from gas stations to swimming pools to mountain ranges. With their clarity and deadpan wit, his photographs, drawings and paintings impart a mood of playful awe on everyday monuments.

The motifs for his new series “Metro Mattresses” were found, like so many of the subjects of his work, on the streets of Los Angeles. In each of the 12 works in the series we encounter a mattress, or mattresses, isolated and in various states of neglect, all depicted against a neutral backdrop. This volume collects the series, with the images reproduced on board pages.

BASIC FACTS: “Ed Ruscha: Metro Mattresses” is written by Ed Ruscha. Published by Sprüth Magers/Koenig Books. Release Date: July 25, 2017. Hardcover | 28 pages | $49.95

“Lee Bontecou”

The organic shapes of Lee Bontecou’s sculptures seem to originate from a mysterious universe in which fears and desires are condensed. Recently the artist created “Sandbox,” a new installation in which she combines elements from her work from the 1960s to the present. A picture essay by Joan Banach, artist and friend of Bontecou, focuses on the genesis of “Sandbox” and maps the rich network of Bontecou’s inspirations: pictures range from extracts from geological and historical books to images of works by old masters.

Detailed photographs of the artist’s studio―including her inspirational “wall of drawings”―are featured alongside reproductions from Bontecou’s sketchbooks. This book is an insight into the creative process of the artist.

BASIC FACTS: “Lee Bontecou” is written by Joan Banach, Jeremy Melius, Laura Stamps, Benno Tempel, and Lee Bontecou (Artist). Published by Walther König, Köln. Release Date: July 25, 2017. Hardcover | 136 pages | $35.00 

“Still Move: Brendan Fernandes”

For the last five years, New York and Toronto based artist Brendan Fernandes has explored how stillness and static movement can be powerful tools of resistance. Informed by his training in ballet and modern dance, Fernandes’ practice explores the role of the body within social and political spaces, questioning and breaking down the notion of hegemony. For Fernandes, choreography serves as a tool for decoding and unpacking this complex conversation. The work demonstrates the artist’s keen interest in responding to histories of avant-garde dance and its relationship to visual art.

Featuring texts by Hendrik Folkerts, curator of documenta 14 and Jess Wilcox, Programs Coordinator of the Elizabeth A Sackler Center for Feminist Art at the Brooklyn Museum, and with contributions from curators Shaun Dacey, Anik Glaude, Robin Metcalfe, Crystal Mowry, and Stuart Reid, this monograph focuses on Fernandes’ use of language and dance as a means to explore power, endurance and resistance.

BASIC FACTS: “Still Move: Brendan Fernandes” is written by Brendan Fernandes and contributors. Published by Black Dog Publishing. Release Date: July 25, 2017. Hardcover | 160 pages | $45.00 

“Bharti Kher: This Breathing House”

 

Published for the 2016 exhibition of the same name held at the Freud Museum, “This Breathing House” offers an intimate view of Indian artist Bharti Kher’s (born 1969) multipart installation in Sigmund Freud’s final home in London.

Following a foreword from the museum’s director, the essay by Stephanie Rosenthal, Chief Curator of the Hayward Gallery, explores Kher’s work, its themes and dialogue with its setting. The essay unfolds the history-laden artworks, among them a tower of red glass bangles that evoke the sound of women moving through a space, life-size casts of Kher‘s parents and collages from the educational children’s book series Dick and Jane. Also included are quotes from the artist herself, as well as Sigmund and Anna Freud, Gaston Bachelard, Georges Didi-Huberman and Maggie Nelson, among others. Replete with installation views and detail shots, the publication reads like a walkthrough of the exhibition itself.

BASIC FACTS: “Bharti Kher: This Breathing House” is written by Stephanie Rosenthal, Bharti Kher (Artist) and Carol Seigel (Foreword). Published by Hauser & Wirth Publishers. Release Date: July 25, 2017. Hardcover | 86 pages | $30.00

“Franz West: Artistclub”

Vienna-based artist Franz West (1947–2012) often explored the way authorship is attributed to artworks through co-authorship and collaboration. This volume showcases his 2011 piece, “Extroversion,” in which 43 different works―by various artists―combined to upend West’s studio kitchen.

BACIS FACTS: “Franz West: Artistclub” is written by Agnes Husslein-Arco, Harald Krejci and Franz West (Artist). Published by Verlag für moderne Kunst. Release Date: July 25, 2017. Paperback | 46 pages | $29.95

 

________________________________

Copyright 2017 Hamptons Art Hub LLC. All rights reserved.

Don't miss a story!

We are on Social Networks

subscribe